MTA’s annual meeting was held at the Mississippi Gulf Coast Coliseum during the Deep South Turf Expo. President Keair Edwards led a PowerPoint Presentation highlighting events during the year.

Awards were given—the Bud Thigpen Distinguished Service Award was presented to Steve Kuykrendall, an industry rep with Harrell’s, Inc. The Outstanding Turf Professional Award was presented to Danny Smith, an instructor with the EMCC Turf Program. Will Pace and Doug Crews (MSU).

Officers and Directors were elected:

President: Alan Sullivan. Alan is head superintendent at Grand Bear Golf Course in Saucier, MS.

Vice-president, President-Elect is Will Arnett. Will is Director of Golf Operations at Lion Hills Golf Course in Columbus, MS.

Secretary/Treasurer is Dr. Barry Stewart. Dr. Stewart is an Associate Professor in the Golf & Sports Turf Management program at MSU.

Directors are: Chris Hussey, Hussey Sod Farm in Tupelo, MS; Todd McCullough, City of Louisville, MS; Corey Garrison, Jackson Country Club in Jackson, MS; Seth King, Ben Nelson Golf; Jimmy McPherson, MSU Golf Course in Starkville, MS; Elvin Ulmer, City of Laurel, MS. Ex-officio member is Dr. Jay McCurdy. Dr. McCurdy is MSU Turf Extention Specialist and an Associate Professor in the Golf & Sports Turf Management program at MSU.

2021 scholarship winner

EMCC Scholarship winner—Braden Carlisle (center).
Pictured with Braden are instructors Danny Smith (left) and Will Arnett (right)

SCHOLARSHIPS—2022. Three scholarships ($1,000 each) were awarded to Braden Carlisle (EMCC), Doug Crews, and Will Pace (MSU).

Please visit the Scholarships page to read about these outstanding young men!